gvA Update

Identify Federal Republics A federal republic is a federation of states with a republican form of government. What does republican mean? To put it simply a republic is a country that is governed by elected representatives and by an elected president, rather than by a king or a queen. A federal republic ensures division of powers between the federal government, and the government of the individual subdivisions. In general, common matters such as those relating to security and defense, and monetary policy are usually handled at the federal level, while matters such as infrastructure maintenance and education policy are usually handled at the regional, state or local level. Most federal republics codify the division of powers between levels of government in a written constitution. Some federal with a strong president as head of state have states while others have regions. In this connection, 1- Which of the following Federal Republics has just four provinces instead of states? 1. Brazil, 2. Mexico, 3. Pakistan and 4. United States of America. 2- Which of the following African federal republics has regions based on ethnic territoriality and not states? 1. Ethiopia, 2. Nigeria, 3. South Sudan and 4. Sudan. ANSWERS 1- Pakistan, with a population of nearly 200 million people has just 4 provinces and a capital territory in its federal structure. Pakistan ranks 6th in the world in population, just ahead of Nigeria. Nigeria at number seven in the world has a population of about 186 million people. 2- The African federal republic with regions based on ethnic territoriality and not states is Ethiopia.


Posted: May 30th, 2017 @ 03:02:02 AM